top of page

Re-elected TGB Members Sworn In at Inauguration Ceremony

Taylor, Gouge Retain Chair, Vice Chair; Shuman Elected New Secretary-Treasurer

By Joe Morey News Editor

The Inauguration of re-elected Tribal Governing Board members Louis Taylor, Don Carley and Tweed Shuman took place with a swearing-in ceremony at the Sevenwinds Convention Center on Friday morning, July 2.

Chief Tribal Judge Elaine Smith administered the oaths of office for the three TGB members. Following the oath, Smith asked for nominations to Tribal Chairman, at which time Tweed Shuman nominated Louis Taylor. Taylor was unanimously chosen by the Board after no other nominations were made. The same process occurred for Lorraine Gouge after she was nominated by TGB member Glenda Barber. Both Taylor and Gouge were currently serving in those positions.

Judge Smith asked for nominations to Secretary-Treasurer and Barber nominated current position holder, Michelle Beaudin. TGB member Don Carley nominated Tweed Shuman. A ballot vote was taken among the seven Board members and Shuman won the vote 4 to 3. Shuman will now serve as Secretary-Treasurer for the next two years.

Chairman Taylor told the members in attendance that he accepts the role as chairman and will do his best for the people of LCO.

Vice Chair Gouge said she thankful that everyone could come together and thankful that she could serve as vice chair for another two years. “I will do what I can and will represent LCO the best I can.”

Don Carley thanked everyone, including the Elders for their support. He also thanked all the staff and directors.

“We’ve heard all your concerns and will work hard to address them,” Carley stated.

Tweed Shuman said he was honored to serve the people of LCO. He said he is passionate and knows that the members are the boss.

“We’ll be planning to meet with you very soon now that the Covid pandemic is over,” Shuman said.

Re-elected TGB members from L-R) Tweed Shuman, Don Carley and Louis Taylor.

Chairman Taylor addresses the members in attendance.

The LCO Tribal Governing Board for the next two years from L-R) Michelle Beaudin, Gary "Little Guy" Clause, Secretary-Treasurer Tweed Shuman, Chairman Louis Taylor, Vice Chairwoman Lorraine Gouge, Don Carley and Glenda Barber.


bottom of page