top of page

Taylor Re-elected Chairman, Gouge and Beaudin Elected Officers at Swearing-In

By Joe Morey

News Editor

The four newly-elected LCO Tribal Governing Board members were sworn in to office at an Inauguration Ceremony on July 3, 2019, at the Sevenwinds Casino Conference Center.

New LCO Chief Judge Elaine Smith did the oath of office for Gary “Little Guy” Clause, Glenda Barber, Michelle Beaudin and Lorraine Gouge. Shortly after their swearing in, the full council, including Chairman Louis Taylor, Tweed Shuman and Don Carley, elected their officers. Taylor was unanimously chosen as Chairman and Beaudin was unanimously chosen as Secretary-Treasurer. An election for Vice Chair took place by secret ballot with Lorraine Gouge being chosen with a vote of 4-3 over Tweed Shuman.

During the ceremony, outgoing council members Jason Schlender, Rose Gokee, Jason Weaver and Joel Valentin were all presented with gifts.

Glenda Barber told the full conference center audience that the new council already held an informal meeting and she is confident they are going to work well together.

“We are going to have some positive change,” Barber said.

Michelle Beaudin said, “We’re going to do our best for you and fight for you to make sure everyone is treated fairly and gets the services provided for them they deserve.” She added that the new council is going to need the help of all the membership to make changes happen.

Little Guy Clause told the membership he came a long ways to get back on council.

“Whatever adversity you have in your life, you can make it back,” Little Guy stated. “We have a good team and good things are going to happen. Let’s get to work and get the job done.”

Finally, Lorraine Gouge said, “This is a very honorable thing for me. I’ve been given a lot of responsibility and it won’t be easy, but I’ll do my best and I know we’ll do what we can to move our tribe forward.”

The new council begins the work of the tribe on Monday, July 8, 2019.

The 2019-21 LCO Tribal Governing Board from L-R) Don Carley, Tweed Shuman, Vice Chairwoman Lorraine Gouge, Gary "Little Guy" Clause, Secretary-Treasurer Michelle Beaudin, Glenda Barber and Chairman Louis Taylor.

Swearing-In of new council members Glenda Barber (top left), Michelle Beaudin (top right), Gary "Little Guy" Clause and Lorraine Gouge.

All outgoing council members received gifts presented to them by the three other council members. Above was Joel Valentin presented gifts by Don Carley, Tweed Shuman and Chairman Louis Taylor.

Outgoing council members welcome the new council members as they leave their seats.


bottom of page