top of page

LCO College Awarded Grant to Help Low Income, First Generation and Students with Disabilities

Updated: Sep 14, 2020

SSS helps college students who are low income, first generation, or students with disabilities. The grant provides comprehensive services that include academic tutoring, financial aid advice, career and college mentoring, help in choosing courses, and other forms of assistance. These services enhance academic success and make it more likely that students will graduate or transfer with the lowest possible debt. Many Student Support Services alumni have become successful in their career pursuits.

While the Covid-19 pandemic has added additional challenges to an already disproportionate systemic and financial hardship for students, “We are thankful for the opportunity to continue our services to the students who need us most. The SSS/TRiO Program has been and will remain a cornerstone for Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe College.” states Melissa Crow, SSS/TRiO Director and TRiO alumni.

SSS began in 1968 and is one of the eight federal “TRiO” programs authorized by the Higher Education Act to help college students succeed in higher education. It recognizes that students whose parents do not have a college degree have more difficulties navigating the complexity of decisions that college requires for success, it bolsters students from low income families who have not had the academic opportunities that their college peers have had, and helps students with disabilities remove obstacles preventing them from thriving academically.

"We are very excited about this important award. The SSS/Trio grant assures our ability to continue providing quality academic supports to our students. Time and again, our students tell me overwhelmingly how much they value the SSS/TRiO services and support team. I especially want to recognize all of the SSS/TRiO leadership and staff for creating such a strong program that helps students stay in school and successfully graduate," Dr. Russell Swagger, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe College President.


bottom of page